Comprehensive Legal Solutions in Chico
Free 30-Minute Consultation 916.345.1414
Fawne Gray Attorney at Law Where Large Firm Competence Meets Small Firm Attention

DUI Lawyer in Chico

Large-Firm Competence with Small-Firm Attention

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, it is critical that you contact our Chico DUI attorney as soon as possible.Alcohol and keys

Our team can work with you to develop a defense strategy designed to help get your charges reduced, prevent certain evidence from being used against you, or even drop the charges against you entirely.

At Fawne Gray Attorney at Law, we provide a solid criminal defense team that can guide you through the entire process as we work tirelessly to protect your rights and freedom. When you hire our firm, you will be treated with the courtesy and respect you deserve.

Talk to our experienced DUI lawyer about your case today by contacting us at (916) 345-1414. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Understanding DUI Laws in California

According to California law, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. All persons are prohibited from driving when their blood alcohol content (BAC) is a 0.08% or higher.

The harsh reality is that it is not necessary for a prosecutor to prove that the driver was impaired, but merely that he or she met or exceeded the 0.08% level limit.

Those convicted of DUI charges could face a variety of penalties, including:

  • Fines
  • Jail time
  • License suspension
  • Probation

Drivers under the age of 21 are bound by even lower legal BAC limits, which are only 0.1%. Any underage driver found with an alcohol level exceeding that limit will have his or her license suspended for one year.

Is jail time mandatory for DUI in California?

Yes, jail time is mandatory for a DUI in California. For every subsequent DUI conviction, the court will impose a mandatory minimum jail time. If you caused an injury or fatality, the penalties are more severe. The maximum penalty for a first time misdemeanor DUI is 180 days in county jail. A felony DUI carries the possibility of several years in state prison. Even a first time DUI will lead to 2-days in jail (a weekend) or community service, 3, 6 or 9-month’s attendance at a DUI program, and more.

How can I avoid jail time for my first DUI?

If you would like to avoid going to jail for your first DUI, you must install an ignition interlock system in your vehicle if you qualify. Violation of the ignition interlock or other conditions of the court for a DUI-related offense, can also result in reinstating a jail sentence. A person convicted of a first time offense operating while intoxicated charge will also be required to enroll in a DUI class alcohol education program. Starting February 2021 DUI consequences include a higher likelihood of going to jail up to six months, as a longer punishment for a misdemeanor first offense DUI, DWI conviction. Mandatory minimum jail time length is often increased beyond 6 months in DUI cases that involved an accident with injury.

Let Us Help You Protect Your Driving Privileges

If you have been charged with DUI, you may not have to lose your license. Be sure to get in touch with our Chico DUI lawyer within 10 days of being charged to request a hearing.

Our knowledgeable DUI defense attorney can help you take care of everything else from there.

We take pride in fighting for our clients, as we work with them to try to protect their driver’s licenses and their futures. Contact us at (916) 345-1414 to get started with your case today.

Client Testimonials

The Opinions that Matter Most
  • “Could never ask for anyone better than Fawne Crabtree”

    Sincere Roseville, CA
  • “Very professional and easy to work with.”

  • “Best Services Ever”

    Former Client Roseville, CA
  • “Amazing”

    Former Client

Why Hire the Law Offices of Fawne Gray?

Your Family and Future Depends On It
  • The Capability of a Large Firm & the Dedication of a Small Firm

  • Diverse Experience, Including in Family Law & Criminal Defense

  • Attentive Personal Attention Shown to Each Client

  • Free 30-Minute Consultations For Potential Clients

  • Thorough, Competent & Compassionate Legal Services

  • Affordable Flat Rate Fees for All Criminal Defense Services

  • Lawyers of Distinction 2018
  • Eastern District Federal Court
  • Placer County Bar Association
  • Sacramento County Bar Association
  • California Bar Association, Family Law Section
  • American Bar Association, Business Law Section
Helpful Links Access Valuable Resources or Pay an Invoice Below Click Here